i spent a long time on the phone today with starbucks, and i have to say that they were very patient and did a lot of researching for me. i'm going to deliver to you the spoken word right from the horse's mouth. that being said, i trust the written word a whole lot more, which i'm still waiting for from the buck of star. here's what i've been told:
most importantly, starbucks is a place where we need to have our game faces on. there is definitely gluten in that place, and plenty of opportunity for cross contamination - coupled with a complete lack of knowledge from the staff. (but don't shoot the messengers, this is from the top down and isn't the fault of any starbucks employee you or i meet on any given day). so - be heads up. if you're getting a blended drink, have them wash out the blender extra well before they make your drink. if you're getting something steamed, have them wipe down the steamer. you pickin' up what i'm putting down? so when i say safe below, i'm basing this on the ingredients - that there are no gluten ingredients used in these products. it's up to you to make sure that there is no gluten added to your drink in the store!
here's the skinny:
- tazo chai tea latte: safe
- steamed milk: safe
- steamed soy: safe
- coffee: safe
- straight tea: safe
- frappuccinos: safe (there have been rumors that the frappuccino base contains gluten, but i was assured today that while it does contain maltodextrin it is actually derived from corn, and not wheat)
- regular syrups: safe
- light syrups: iffy. i was told that they are safe, but i have read way too many articles about them not being safe to totally believe what i was told. i will continue to steer clear of them and await written confirmation from starbucks.
- lattes: safe
- skinny lattes: steer clear for the same reason as above with light syrups
- caramel sauce: safe
- whipped cream: safe
- toppings/sprinkles: i was told today that they are safe, but i have been told before that these are possibly not safe. again, i will continue to avoid until i receive written confirmation.
- egg nog: i don't have confirmation on their eggnog, so i would recommend holding off on this for now. it is possible to make egg nog drinks at home though, check out this great list of gluten free egg nog.
so to recap, from what they've told me so far we need to look out for light syrups, anything sprinkled on top of drinks, and egg nog. i will definitely fill you in as soon as i get something in writing from them!!
now go get your red cup on, and get in the holiday spirit!!